Skinny Girl Problems….


Gobble, gobble! I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving! Also, if you consider Black Friday to be somewhat of a holiday ( I know it’s really horrible, in terms of economic responsibility, but I am a die-hard recessionista. I needs what I need, and I need it at a DISCOUNT!), I hope you enjoyed that equally!

This Thanksgiving, I went to stay with my aunt and uncle in San Bernardino, and it was lovely to spend a few days with them. One funny thing I’ve noticed? Older folks turn into real comedians after they get all of the kids out of the house! For example:

Really? Bite Sized Cornbread?!?!?

Yup. They thought they’d be funny guys and give me my collard greens in a condiment dish, and cornbread the size of a big toe! Just RUDE. But I’ll admit, it was pretty hysterical….especially considering the fact that I didn’t finish it all. Lol.

Oooh! Speaking of food, I promise, promise, promise I will have the mini mozzerella and spinach stuffed meatloaves recipe up tomorrow. It’s just been CRAZY!

Let’s talk Black Friday, shall we?!?

First of all, in Porter Ranch, some lady went all willy nilly, and sprayed people with pepper spray when the line rush began. 1) That is pure insanity! You’re jeopardizing people’s health and alienating their rights for a sale on electronics! SMACK YOURSELF! 2) I have a teeny, tiny bit of respect for her. After all, don’t I always say it? “Go hard, or go HOME!” She, apparently, was NOT going home without everything on her list. And she’s crazy.

Me, on the other hand? I did not brave the crowds this year. I know, GASP! But honestly, I realized this year that with our economy in the state it’s in, Black Friday is a big sham. This blog isn’t about politics, so I won’t go there. Partly because, well….with this economy, I can’t afford to NOT shop on Black Friday. I am in need of a new laptop. I’ve been wanting a down alternative comforter since last year when I finally bought my coveted Liberty of London bedset, I needed pots and pans for the new house, but was too stingy to splurge on them….the list goes on! So, I give you:

Sondra’s Black Friday Steals:

1 Toshiba 17.3″ laptop with webcam and a bunch of other high tech stuff I won’t understand fully. $398

1 Down alternative comforter. $24.99

1 2″ Memory foam cooling mattress topper $28.88

1 18 piece non stick Farberware cookset $39.99

Also, my aunt has gotten me addicted to QVC deals, and they were kind enough to supply me with a Clarisonic facial care system for $124! And it’s cheetah print! And comes with Philosophy cleanser and everything! WOO!

And? I used Ebates for all my purchases, so I get a percentage of cash back from each retailer. BAM!

Ok, enough with all that.

Also, I got to see my babies while I was there. I took them out on Saturday to eat and a movie. First, let me just say I am still astonished that they chose to eat at Costco( the one foodcourt that has virtually NOTHING I can or should eat). Really? Of all the places you could choose, you want to eat at the Costco food court? Talk about cheap dates! 6 mouths, $20! Lol. Then, I take them to see the new Twilight movie, and my 9 and 13 year old nieces were acting ridiculous. Some of my favorite shenanigans-laced phrases?

“I will not behave myself! Sexy Jacob is in this movie!”

“Oh. My. God. Team Edward, Team Jacob….whatever! I’ll be on both teams!”

“OMG! He took his shirt off! Whew! He’s so fine!”

(While Bella is in a rather compromising position on a table) “Why doesn’t she close her legs?! That’s what got her in trouble in the first place!”

Clearly, words somewhat fail me. I spent half the dang movie covering a nine year olds’ eyes. And it was rated PG13, but I don’t know how they came up with that! Gee whiz!

All in all, it was a lovely holiday weekend. It was nice, because a lot of the people I got to see were kind enough to tell me how much they have enjoyed the blog, and that made me feel an enormous swell of pride.

Next week, I’ll be posting the next installment of the 30 Day Challenges. Last weigh in, I had lost 80 lbs. I won’t weigh again until the end of this week or beginning of next, just to excite myself a little before the real holidays begin. 🙂

So….I think I’ve covered all of the important stuff. Very excited to head to Torrid today and interview to go back for the holidays. Sometimes,  I miss retail just a little bit, and with 3.5 work days a week, I can definitely swing a shift or two for some extra spending money, and a 40% discount (although, may I point out, I am two sizes away from not fitting Torrid Plus Sized clothing!! WOO!)

I’ll leave you with my favorite status update of the weekend:

“…did I really come to San Bernardino for four days and not go to Rosie’s for a burrito, Crossroads for a sub, or Bakers for a shake? Hmm. Can’t eat any of it. #skinnygirlproblems ♥”

I was inspired by my little sister Aubrey’s post about my sister Shelby attempting to dance on her knees to some Ciara video, and getting rugburn. She tagged it with #whitegirlproblems, and I pretty much couldn’t breathe for ten minutes because I was laughing so hard! I think I’ll start trending #skinnygirlproblems on Twitter!

‘Til Next Time!

XOXO

Leave a comment